Façade

Façade is a video game that takes place in the apartment of a couple, Trip and Grace, that invited the player for a visit. Then the conflict arises, Trip and Grace start arguing, and using language processing software the game allows the player to interact with the couple and their argument. Now there is three outcomes to this game, as far as I have understood, you can get kicked out, you can get them to reconcile or you can drive them to split up.

I have to be honest, I never got any other ending than getting asked to leave/kicked out, I watched someone else play and get the “true” ending the “win”. It was very cool, I don’t know how long I would have had to play to get to that ending though, it was a long process.

Façade 2

The story.

The story about a couple with problems and you as a player trying to fix it is dependent on how invested you get in finding out the “secrets” of the game. I was done with the story after the first attempt, the jagged way the name you choose, and the rest of the line is connected is not always smooth, as seen in the video I linked above. It was still cool to see the secrets, but I don’t think I would have played the game for hours to get there myself.

What I liked.

The way your input is read and interpreted by the AI, is what I find really interesting about this game, the AI is quite good at catching the meaning of what you want to say, even if it’s very spelling sensitive. After reading  about the AI I was interested to find that it does not just recognize the words and sentences, like a chatbot might, but it tries to understand the meaning behind and using that with the context it was said in to create an appropriate response. Very cool stuff, I am going to read more about the AI aspect later. I was amazed by how much work that is behind the AI and text processing and analyzing.

All in all.

I was not that griped with the story, I think it needs you to either get emotionally attached to the characters or to get invested in the story, I just looked it up on YouTube. But as a whole I think its wort checking out.

 

 

 

 

Class project.

Now for a bit about my project for this class, I am planning on making a small 2D game, I am thinking about using unity for this project, but that’s not set in stone.

I am planning on making electronic literature without much text, there will be text, but I want it to be about the ambiguity that is people. I am thinking the game will be a small map with a few other characters (5-7), that all live in their own biomes, and the player can interact with the different characters with “dialogue”. The dialogue is not full lines of language with meaning, the dialogue is going to be obfuscated, most likely different versions of “bla bla bla”.

Now the point of this is to make the player interact whit these other people without thinking about meaning, but reaction. The characters will change appearance vice, in reaction to the player input, there will also be a limitation of interaction, representing the limited time a person has in life.

I don’t know how good this “game” actually will be, but this is my aspiration, this is my artistic vision for it. It remains to be seen how much of this will work out in the end.

Leave a Reply

